#PLSummit & Reflection

Right now in San Francisco attendees are waking up for the PL Summit. I find myself seriously wishing that I was there, which is a pretty big surprise to me. At the start of this year, I was not as enthusiastic about personalizing education for students. Not to say that I didn’t think it was a good idea…I don’t think anyone would really argue about the concept. But, I didn’t know enough of the process and how to support it to really see why it’s so important. For me, connecting with Blended Learning was my entry point to see the potential that personalizing education can have for students. Blended learning is specific, and yet so open to interpretation that all of the teachers I support (ranging from more traditional middle school programs to alternative high school classes) can connect with a model and begin implementation with at least part of it in their classrooms.

These realizations along with the support my team has received from Education Elements, and visits to schools embarking on their journey this year left me to wanting to explore more about what other school districts are doing and what other learning opportunities Education Elements has available…which led to PL Summit. Based on tweets I’ve seen so far, it looks like it’s going to be a great conference.  I’m thankful so many people that are there are on Twitter- I’m well-practiced at the lurk & learn. If you’re interested check out #PLsummit on Twitter and follow along. If you’re at PL Summit (lucky!) here are my picks for both days if you’re wondering what sessions to attend (please tweet as much as you can for us #lurkandLearners)!

 

Thursday:

PL Wednesday, Thursday.png

 

Friday

PL Friday.png

Leave a Reply

